#1  
Old 19th July 2012, 20:46
kuroineko16 kuroineko16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Question Procaster Acting Weird...

My live streams just aren't working right! Yesterday I was able to only live stream about 11 minutes until it would suddenly stop without me knowing and I only knew that it stopped when I checked my videos and there were up to 5 minutes cut off from the endings of each video. Then suddenly today it's closing after only like 2 minutes and saying I have a problem with my internet connection and I should switch to a lower bandwith or something like that? I have Windows XP and I know I downloaded the right procaster. I've even tried closing everything besides my internet and the procaster since the control window on the bottom says try closing another app (and something about my computer being over 80%?) and it still will not function properly.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2073463460.png Those are my results for the speed test I keep seeing in the forums, now what do I do? ._.

In case you ask I am also using the Mobile Quality because I don't know what else to use and it's the lowest so I thought it might help .o."

Last edited by kuroineko16; 23rd July 2012 at 23:55. Reason: Saw someone in another forum ask what quality they were using for their streams
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th July 2012, 19:32
getistreams getistreams is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I'm having the very same problem, used to get 10 minutes or so, now it's stopping after 2.

My speed is very much above average: http://www.speedtest.net/result/2075221167.png



It is highly unlikely that this is a problem on my end, and I would very much like a solution to this dilemma.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2012, 16:19
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

kuroineko16,

For best results, and to provide a better solution, you should run the speed test to a server in New York, NY at newyork.speedtest.net - be sure you are on a hard-wired, dedicated network.

getistreams,

Please run the speed test to New York, NY as directed above. Additionally, are you broadcasting from behind any firewalls? Are you on a wired, dedicated connection? Which messages if any are you receiving when the broadcast stops?
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th July 2012, 19:48
kuroineko16 kuroineko16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Question Alright

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2082164495.png There, those are my results on the New York one.

What do you mean hard-wired, dedicated network? And if my networks not like that what do I do? .o.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th July 2012, 11:16
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

Hard-wired meaning you should be plugged directly into your network and avoid using wifi for a faster, more stable connection. Dedicated meaning avoid using shared networks that others can connect on which may be siphoning your upload bandwidth. Be sure you have minimized any programs that could be impacting your bandwidth as well.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th July 2012, 15:26
kuroineko16 kuroineko16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default ...

So if I want to live stream from my laptop I have to be directly connected to the main computer? And I'm connected to a network that only works if you have a password if that even counts .o."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th July 2012, 16:39
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuroineko16 View Post
So if I want to live stream from my laptop I have to be directly connected to the main computer? And I'm connected to a network that only works if you have a password if that even counts .o."
Run an ethernet wire directly from your router to your laptop. That may give you an increase in speed and keep your broadcast stable.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th July 2012, 16:47
kuroineko16 kuroineko16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Is there anything else I could possibly do? The main computer isn't mine and it's not in my room so connecting it with a cable would just leave something in the hallway for people to trip over .o."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acting weird, cutting off, low bandwidth, procaster, stopping

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump