#1  
Old 18th July 2012, 14:37
prizzly prizzly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default Podcaster losing connection

While I'm streaming, I notice that during my streams, the Podcaster loses connection during the stream.
It first says Perfect Streaming and after a minute, it lost connection and tries to reconnect with my internet. But when I just go to firefox and go to different sites, it still loads pretty fast and my computer says I'm connected with Internet.
So as result of this issue, my streams are saved in my library and the time of those streams are always around 2 min.

Is it a problem from my side or a problem with the podcaster since I never had this issue before
and has started since today.
(I have the latest Podcaster)

>> http://www.livestream.com/seeprizzlydraw
My channel, with all the saved videos of the stream.

Last edited by prizzly; 18th July 2012 at 14:44. Reason: added info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd July 2012, 11:52
harmonychurchsumter harmonychurchsumter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default

I am having the exact same issue. The stream keeps disconnecting but any other site I go to on the internet is working fine. At times, I cannot keep a connection with my Stream.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd July 2012, 11:34
coryfrans coryfrans is offline
Livestream Procaster Support
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prizzly View Post
While I'm streaming, I notice that during my streams, the Podcaster loses connection during the stream.
It first says Perfect Streaming and after a minute, it lost connection and tries to reconnect with my internet. But when I just go to firefox and go to different sites, it still loads pretty fast and my computer says I'm connected with Internet.
So as result of this issue, my streams are saved in my library and the time of those streams are always around 2 min.

Is it a problem from my side or a problem with the podcaster since I never had this issue before
and has started since today.
(I have the latest Podcaster)

>> http://www.livestream.com/seeprizzlydraw
My channel, with all the saved videos of the stream.
Hello,

I am sorry for the issues that you are experiencing. It seams like it could be a connection issue. If you can, please let me know what quality you are streaming with. Also please let me know the results you receive from www.speedtest.net

Let us know so we can better assist you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2013, 23:12
wakechapel wakechapel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I have the same problem each Sunday morning during service. We have a 50 down 10 meg up TWC connection. Server was built specifically for streaming. No dual duty. Server normally runs at 30% CPU usage and perfect streaming until the connection issues start. As the church IT person, it's starting to become embarrassing when people keep emailing and calling the church asking why does the webcast have so many glitches.

Last edited by wakechapel; 17th January 2013 at 23:33.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th January 2013, 10:20
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,503
Default

Wakechapel,

Have you tested the connection speeds to New York, NY? I suggest running a test at newyork.speedtest.net. Are you behind a firewall? Is the network used for streaming also open to the public? Which bit rate are you streaming?
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st January 2013, 20:00
wakechapel wakechapel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default

I've used speakeasy and speedtest sites. Both are within 1 Mbps of what TWS said we should have.

The last issue we had, we were using an off the shelf router directly into the TWC modem. No fancy firewall.

We're encoding a basic desktop and mobile stream. I'll get the exact settings tomorrow when I'm back in the office.

It's not our network. We've had great Sundays in the past. However, the bad is starting to out way the good.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd January 2013, 10:27
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,503
Default

wakechapel,

I see you're a Premium channel owner. In your case, I think the best course of action would be to set up a time to test your broadcast and give us a call during the test so we can troubleshoot on the spot.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd January 2013, 10:28
athlon1 athlon1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 73
Default

You may have to turn the firewall off
when you broadcast
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th March 2013, 14:28
cbcdavison cbcdavison is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 23
Default

I'm also having the same problems as wakechapel. Procaster randomly says it loses internet connection when I can verify using speedtest and browsing that it is still up. There are times when it loses connection for several minutes at a time. Even when it says it's down a speedtest (even to new york) shows stable speeds of around 15 down and 3 up. When it works, it works really well, but there's those times where it completely drops out for no reason.

I've also disabled the firewall on the computer when the connection drops and it doesn't make a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th March 2013, 09:33
athlon1 athlon1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 73
Default

I had an issue this past Sat at 9pm after I started my show about 3 mins into the show everything perfect streaming(I use the mobile streaming mode) then says lost connnection,etc. it did finally come back up--I checked all my other connections, everything was connected local internet. I figured it was maybe the bad weather in NY, snow etx. The Procaster was having issues connecting to the servers in New York. It has only happened maybe twice since I have been broadcasting with Livestream, and I have firewall off too.
But I call it just a snafu, not a big deal since I am not a premium user. At anyrate, just my 2 cents worth.
Have a blessed day
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump