#1  
Old 14th October 2011, 20:45
OptionsMultimedia OptionsMultimedia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default HDMI to USB converter needed!

So here I am with 2 great cameras that I can't use for streaming with livestream because they don't have firewire or usb ports (they have HDMI)???? These are pro cameras & you tell me I need to downgrade to a $500 family camera to work (it has usb). That just seems crazy to me. You need to figure this out! I'm not asking for HDMI signal quality across the internet I just want to feed the video in & have you convert as needed. Isn't there an HDMI to usb converter that would work somewhere? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th October 2011, 15:22
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OptionsMultimedia View Post
So here I am with 2 great cameras that I can't use for streaming with livestream because they don't have firewire or usb ports (they have HDMI)???? These are pro cameras & you tell me I need to downgrade to a $500 family camera to work (it has usb). That just seems crazy to me. You need to figure this out! I'm not asking for HDMI signal quality across the internet I just want to feed the video in & have you convert as needed. Isn't there an HDMI to usb converter that would work somewhere? Thanks.
Hello OptionsMultimedia,

You can definitely utilize your HDMI camera. In order to do so, however, you will need an HD capture card which you can install on a Desktop computer. We recommend using the capture cards sold by Black Magic Design, which have been certified to work with Procaster. The Black Magic Intensity Pro capture card supports HDMI and analog inputs. More information on these cards can be found here: http://www.blackmagic-design.com/pro...ensity/models/

Below are the recommended system specs as well:


Recommended

Quad Core CPU
4GB RAM
1500Kbps upload bandwidth
Dedicated video card, 512MB VRAM
Windows Vista / Windows 7
Mac OS X 10.6 or higher

Optimal (for HD Multi-Bitrate Streaming)

Quad Core i7-2600 series CPU
8GB RAM
5000Kbps upload bandwidth
Dedicated video card, 512MB VRAM
Windows Vista / Windows 7
Mac OS X 10.6 or higher
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th January 2012, 12:20
ignitenews ignitenews is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

We are in a similar situation and looking for a solution.

I have access to an HDMI & HDSDI signal in 1080i and want to connect the signal to an iMac (usb, firewire 400 or 800) and stream through Livestream.

What are my options?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th January 2012, 12:25
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

I'd suggest using one of the following devices:

--Blackmagic Design Intensity Extreme (Thunderbolt device)
--Blackmagic Design Ultrastudio 3D (Thunderbolt device)
--Blackmagic Design H.264 Pro Recorder (USB 2.0 Device - works on older Mac laptops)
--Matrox MX02 Product Line

I should however note that each is still in experimental support mode for use with Procaster Mac and not officially supported as of yet.

Matt
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th January 2012, 12:46
ignitenews ignitenews is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Mbaron;

Thanks for the quick reply.

I emailed Blackmagic, after reading on these forums, that it may suit my needs. Here is the emailed exchange with them.

Are they not officially saying their product will work with Livestream because they haven't tested themselves?

So do I basically plug my HDMI or HDSDI source signal in to the Blackmagic Design Intensity Extreme (Thunderbolt device), then run a USB or Firewire cable from that device in to the iMac? And Livestream will recognize it?



> Hello;
>
> We would like to purchase the Intensity Extreme, but want to verify it will
> suit our purpose first.
>
> Can we take an HDMI signal, run it in to the Intensity Extreme box and push it
> real time in to an iMac via Firewire?
>
> The end goal is to live stream our studio news show on
> http://www.livestream.com/ignitenews

Owen,

Thank you for your interest in our products.

Unfortunately, none of our products, to include the Blackmagic Design,
Intensity Extreme, will allow for any transfers over Firewire.

The Intensity Extreme is an external device that will connect to a MacPro
system over a Thunderbolt connection, to allow you to I/O video through a
supported software application.

You will be able to use this on a iMac, as long as the iMac has a
thunderbolt port on it to connect to the Intensity Extreme.

As far as streaming applications go... We don't do any testing or
certification with streaming applications. Really the only 3rd party
application testing we do is with Final Cut Pro 7, or Adobe Premier Pro CS
5.5.1. But we don't block 3rd party software fro being able to use our
products, so in theory, any software application that has the proper Direct
Show Plug In structure, should recognize our boards as a valid I/O device.

For 3rd party applications, we always recommend that you contact the
manufacture of the application you would like to use, and inquire with them
as to if they have done any specific testing with their application and our
hardware... And if so, in what capacity. Because at that point, any workflow
related questions using their application would need to be directed towards
them.

Hope this information was helpful.

Richard T. Chao
Support Representative
Blackmagic Design Inc.
www.blackmagic-design.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th January 2012, 15:34
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

ignitenews,

Blackmagic doesn't certify their devices for use with other platforms from Richard's email. Our internal Procaster development does however work on integrating devices for use with our software. Support for the Intensity Extreme and the other devices I mentioned in my earlier post are currently being developed by this team.

In regards to connecting to your system Thunderbolt is the connection interface and not USB or Firewire.

Matt
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th January 2012, 11:07
ignitenews ignitenews is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbaron View Post
ignitenews,

Blackmagic doesn't certify their devices for use with other platforms from Richard's email. Our internal Procaster development does however work on integrating devices for use with our software. Support for the Intensity Extreme and the other devices I mentioned in my earlier post are currently being developed by this team.

In regards to connecting to your system Thunderbolt is the connection interface and not USB or Firewire.

Matt
Livestream Support
Thanks for the reply, Matt!

I wasn't asking about Thunderbolt and was simply listing the device name.

My final question was regarding the ease of set-up and how it actually works. I understand Livestream is working on support for these devices, but I'm hoping you guys will be able to answer a basic set-up question.

Do I plug my HDMI or HDSDI source signal in to the Blackmagic Design Intensity Extreme, then run a USB or Firewire cable from that device in to the iMac? And Livestream will recognize it like I have any other USB device plugged in?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st March 2012, 18:07
ignitenews ignitenews is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

I have the BlackMagic Intensity Extreme and having troubles getting Live Stream to recognize it. I tried the Procaster and the Webcaster.

Any suggestions on where to start troubleshooting?

Hopefully we can get this working, then upgrade to the pro account to stream in HD!!!!


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st March 2012, 18:19
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

ignitenews,

What are your laptop specs? Be absolutely sure that it has Thunderbolt and that is how you are connected, as Thunderbolt is the only way the Intensity Extreme will be recognized.

- Upgrade to the latest version of Procaster from procaster.com
- Be sure you have the latest Black Magic drivers from blackmagic-design.com/support
- Confirm the device is recognized by media express
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th March 2012, 11:31
ignitenews ignitenews is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Default

We have our feed streaming now, but seem to be having trouble with the audio on Livestream. The audio is coming out all distorted. I've checked the audio levels in the Procaster audio mixer, and they are not clipping. They're generally peaking around -8 to -6.


Here's a stream recoding that sounds distorted http://livestre.am/1kdXR

This episode sounded okay http://livestre.am/1k7Ey

I'm not sure what the difference in the settings were, but I've tried experimenting with the levels and sample rates with no positive results.

Any idea what this could be from?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump