Go Back   Livestream Forum > Support > Technical Questions & Bugs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th April 2011, 15:22
Luzarius Luzarius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
Default How to import mp4 into Adode Premiere Pro CS5 without audio going out of sync?

Does anyone know how to import livestreams mp4's into Adode Premiere Pro CS5 without the audio going out of sync?

I could convert the mp4 to avi but that would take a lot more time.

There has to be a way to directly import livestream's mp4 without the audio going out of sync when played inside premiere.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th April 2011, 15:51
coryfrans coryfrans is offline
Livestream Procaster Support
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luzarius View Post
Does anyone know how to import livestreams mp4's into Adode Premiere Pro CS5 without the audio going out of sync?

I could convert the mp4 to avi but that would take a lot more time.

There has to be a way to directly import livestream's mp4 without the audio going out of sync when played inside premiere.
Hello,

With the new beta of procaster, it insures better audio sync in your local recording and in your recording saved to the studio. You would need to download the latest beta of procaster. For more information please visit http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6626
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th April 2011, 16:06
Luzarius Luzarius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coryfrans View Post
Hello,

With the new beta of procaster, it insures better audio sync in your local recording and in your recording saved to the studio. You would need to download the latest beta of procaster. For more information please visit http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6626
That's great news, but the only problem is I already recorded 50 hours of footage.

Please note that when I play my existing MP4 files they play properly in VLC, MPC, WMP, etc. The audio is synced during playback in all major players. But the only time it goes out of sync is in premiere.

These are my current options, can you recommend anymore?

1. Convert 22gb of footage from MP4 to AVI XVID which then imports into Premiere properly. (THIS DID NOT WORK. Audio went out of sync during conversation using Freez Converter, going to try another program).
2. Maybe update the codecs so premiere imports properly?

Any other solutions you can think of?

Last edited by Luzarius; 19th April 2011 at 17:30.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th April 2011, 18:20
Luzarius Luzarius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
Default Most efficient way to fix MP4 files for import in Adobe Premiere CS5?

What is the most efficient way to fix MP4 files for import in Adobe Premiere CS5?

The problem is the mp4 files import into adobe premiere cs5 with the audio out of sync.

I have over 22gb of footage and need to make sure I can import them into adobe premiere cs5. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2011, 15:46
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luzarius View Post
What is the most efficient way to fix MP4 files for import in Adobe Premiere CS5?

The problem is the mp4 files import into adobe premiere cs5 with the audio out of sync.

I have over 22gb of footage and need to make sure I can import them into adobe premiere cs5. Thanks.
Luzarius,

You might want to contact Adobe for their recommended settings. You can always try transcoding the file before import with something like MPEG Streamclip (which is free) if there are compatibility issues.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th April 2011, 17:35
Dragonshadow Dragonshadow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luzarius View Post
What is the most efficient way to fix MP4 files for import in Adobe Premiere CS5?

The problem is the mp4 files import into adobe premiere cs5 with the audio out of sync.

I have over 22gb of footage and need to make sure I can import them into adobe premiere cs5. Thanks.
If you've got the master collection you could try converting with Adobe Media Converter CS5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th May 2011, 10:31
freechapel freechapel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default The Frame-rate us usually not what you record at.

Usually something less professional than Final Cut or Adobe Premier will record at nearly the frame-rate you tell it to. For example, if you tell it to record at 29.97 or 30fps, it will try to record at that rate. But, 99% of the time the fps will drop to about 25 or less. When you import the video into a pro editing program like FCP or premier it will look at it like it is 30fps. The audio actually IS 30fps, but like i mentioned before, the video will not be.

The only solution would be to convert the recorded video (i saw this recommended earlier) into another format. But if you use some third-party $50 transcoder program, 9 times out of 10 the result will NOT be acceptable. The only reliable transcoders are Apple Compressor (industry standard), Sorenson Squeeze or Adobe Media Encoder. Also, DO NOT use a third party codec like DivX. Use what your editing system likes. Ex. FCP wants ProRes or AIC codecs, Premier would want AVI or something. It also depends on your operating system.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st May 2011, 18:56
palau palau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Angry Can't edit the MP4 on a Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
Luzarius, You might want to contact Adobe for their recommended settings. You can always try transcoding the file before import with something like MPEG Streamclip (which is free) if there are compatibility issues.
I'd like to confirm that this approach does not work on the Mac. I've got Final Cut Suite, Adobe CS5, VLC and the latest MPEG Streamclip and nothing will edit these downloaded MP4s. They all complain about it not being a valid filetype. Premiere Pro has horrible sync & playback issues.

If anyone gets it working - on any platform - let us know here in the forums. I'm going to try MPEG streamclip on Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st May 2011, 19:00
palau palau is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freechapel View Post
The only solution would be to convert the recorded video (i saw this recommended earlier) into another format. But if you use some third-party $50 transcoder program, 9 times out of 10 the result will NOT be acceptable. The only reliable transcoders are Apple Compressor (industry standard), Sorenson Squeeze or Adobe Media Encoder.
Normally I'd agree; I've used all the above. However, MPEG Streamclip has been heavily tested here and works great for many, many conversions. It's my preferred tool for x264 encoding (pre-encoding scaling and de-interlacing) and for PAL conversions when I need less-than-ultimate quality (like I'd get from Compressor, if I can wait until old age for it to finish).

Be wary of the cheap ones, but MPS is a gem among the rabble for many kinds of conversion.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th August 2013, 22:45
chris198810 chris198810 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Default Import MP4 to Adobe Premiere Pro

Since you could convert the mp4 to avi but that would take a lot more time, and can't bring a perfect sync in audio/video, have you tried other video app like brorsoft video converter. This tool is professionalized in converting MP4 video into Premiere Pro favorable video format MPEG-2 with fast speed and perfect A/V sync.

By the way, if you wanna a smooth editing in Adobe Premiere Pro, you need adjust the video. audio parameters best suitable for your editing program. This MP4 to Premiere Pro converter can help you do it. Have a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump