#11  
Old 6th January 2011, 20:35
Slimster Slimster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default Mac "Speaker's audio" problem

I looked for the answer but I wasn't able to find it so here it goes:

Running an iMac OSX: 10.6.5
Using the latest version of procaster. (auto updated to: 20.0.89)
and have 4 GB Ram 1333 MHz DDR3

I was able, before some update (either mac or procaster) to record speaker audio, as heard in a couple of my earlier livestreams. But then for one video, I didn't realized it had stopped working and now the "speaker's audio" levels MUTE my computer AND don't actually show that they are picking up any audio (and just aren't picking up audio), when enabled and when I change the system sound preferences BACK to the normal (input) one so I can hear sound, It still does not show up on Procaster. SO what I'm led to believe is that something either with a Mac update, or a procaster update, disabled the functionality of this. I can say this because it did work, so my computer can do it, it just doesn't work anymore.

I've downloaded a couple older versions of procaster, emptied the library of procaster files, and have still had no luck with getting speaker audio to work.

Any help is appreciated, I want the speaker audio back so that I can record games and not have to pick up the audio from the input microphone..ie: having crappy quality.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 7th January 2011, 19:00
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Hey Slimster,

Try this: Go into Procaster's preferences. In the audio tab, make sure Auto Mix is enabled.

If this doesn't work, I encourage you to open a support ticket here:
https://secure.livestream.com/myacco...ter/openticket

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th January 2011, 21:58
Slimster Slimster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I'm going to try the quicktime broadcaster thing.

I've opened up a support ticket.

It's a little frustrating as to why it just doesn't work though.

EDIT: I guess they phased out the QT broadcaster for Quicktime X, for I am not finding it. (will google)

EDIT EDIT: Oop, the link in the post way up there is out of date for I downloaded QT Broadcaster from here: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL764

EDIT 3x: So that didn't work because broadcaster doesn't use speaker audio. AND, to jasonlive: someone above said disable auto mix, I've done both, neither work. Thanks for the help though.

Last edited by Slimster; 7th January 2011 at 22:48. Reason: more information gathered.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 8th January 2011, 12:50
davidaron davidaron is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to davidaron
Default

Try installing "Soundflower" from Apple, and set the input to line out in your system pref pane in OSX and choose soundflower as the output. I use this all the time for broadcasting speakers audio via Flash Media Encoder or Broadcaster on my MacBook Pro. Should work in Procaster, too.

Works like a charm.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 9th January 2011, 01:48
Slimster Slimster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

@davidaron I will try this. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16th January 2011, 09:32
saintv saintv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default

i've the same audio problem.
did anyone found a solution???
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17th January 2011, 00:26
Slimster Slimster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

soundflower works, but now I can't hear sound out of speakers or headphones, so i want to remedy the situation by having the output go through both, but how would I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23rd January 2011, 16:32
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,297
Default

You need to install SoundFlower Bed which comes with SoundFlower. SoundFlower Bed allows you to send the audio to speakers, headphones, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24th January 2011, 00:18
Slimster Slimster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

YES. dude, I went to the website http://cycling74.com/products/soundflower/ and then figured I had to change my system prefs. So I did, and it works flawlessly. Thank you so much.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 7th February 2011, 18:17
lukeyp lukeyp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 5
Default My headfones are broadcasting over my mix?

I am using Traktor and broadcasting using procaster with my SOUNDBLASTER 24 ext souncars, however, procaster is picking up the headphones outputs so u can hear when im cueing up!
Please Im desperate to get my station going again!
ANy ideas, ive spent hrs and hrs looking!
Kind regards!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ableton, audio, audio problem recording, charity, i/o, mac, mac audio, mxo2, problem, procaster, sound, soundflower, speakers, video switcher

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump