#101  
Old 25th February 2011, 16:10
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimboemack View Post
Hello, I have launched a new channel called Perth Live for livestreaming local spoken word events. How can i edit (delete the first 10 minutes) of a saved video? My first broadcast was a bit of a failure because the camera I had could not be set up on my computer and I had to borrow a mac and shoot from the laptop webcam from a really bad location with fairly slow wifi. Also, which might be the best laptop and camera to use? Can I feed the audio seperately from the camera? What is a suitable mobile internet access? As you can see, I am a newbie... but enthusiastic about building a great channel. I have a steep learning curve! : )
jimboemack,

I have moved your post to the beginner's guide thread. You should be able to find some of the answers you're looking for in this thread. In regards to trimming the beginning of a video, you would need to download the video and edit it. We recommend computers with i7 processor for optimal broadcast quality. Hardwired broadband connections are recommended over mobile or wifi.

Matt
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 26th February 2011, 22:28
Mesden Mesden is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Questions about Sound and Streaming

I want to stream something on my Channel but I don't want to use the Microphone to record the sound. I want the person who is watching to be able to listen to what I am listening to. My computer doesn't have Stereo Mix or Wave Out or What U Hear or anything like that. What can I do?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 27th February 2011, 08:26
Visian Visian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default Is there a basic overview of the service?

Honestly, sometimes I wonder if anyone does usability testing anymore?

Is there a page on the Livestream site that tells a new user:

1) This is what Livestream does
2) Here is the basic theory of how one uses Livestream
3) Here are some best practices to make your experience successful

So many sites just dump you in, say "here's our great thing we mad, now YOU figure out how to use it"..... and this site is a classic example.

One simple video that gives you an overview of the system and the basic concepts involved in using would be so very helpful.

Thanks.

Visian
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 27th February 2011, 12:09
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesden View Post
I want to stream something on my Channel but I don't want to use the Microphone to record the sound. I want the person who is watching to be able to listen to what I am listening to. My computer doesn't have Stereo Mix or Wave Out or What U Hear or anything like that. What can I do?
You can enable/disable multiple audio sources (including the speaker's audio) in Procaster's audio mixer. Here's a link to our userguide:
http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...itle=Procaster
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 27th February 2011, 12:22
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Visian View Post
1) This is what Livestream does
2) Here is the basic theory of how one uses Livestream
3) Here are some best practices to make your experience successful
Visian, all of this information is clearly outlined in our userguide, complete with screenshots and video tutorials. Here is the link:
http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...itle=Main_Page
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 27th February 2011, 17:57
MechaNovaKing MechaNovaKing is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default Skype call heard over ProCaster

Can I get it so; my skype conversation isn't being streamed over pro caster?

I'm trying to stream, while at the same time have a call on skype. People can hear me talking on skype. I've been messing around with the audio inputs on pro caster and my computer's realtek. But i don't really know what I'm doing.

I have three options in procaster for audio;
Speakers' Audio
Default input device
line in/mic in
All which pick up my mic. Unless I turn off my mic, via unplug or turning it off through the realtek. So that's doesn't help.

Last edited by MechaNovaKing; 27th February 2011 at 18:06. Reason: skype conversation
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 27th February 2011, 18:04
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechaNovaKing View Post
I'm trying to stream, while at the same time have a call on skype. People can hear me talking on skype. I've been messing around with the audio inputs on pro caster and my computer's realtek. But i don't really know what I'm doing.
You'll have to open the audio mixer in Procaster and remove the microphone source to accomplish this. I've attached a screenshot for reference.

Best,
Jason
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2011-02-27 at 6.02.02 PM.png (79.2 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 27th February 2011, 18:11
MechaNovaKing MechaNovaKing is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
You'll have to open the audio mixer in Procaster and remove the microphone source to accomplish this. I've attached a screenshot for reference.

Best,
Jason
Yes but in your picture Speakers' Audio is still on and that still picks up my mic.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 27th February 2011, 19:03
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechaNovaKing View Post
Yes but in your picture Speakers' Audio is still on and that still picks up my mic.
Speaker's audio picks up what's coming out of the speakers.

To disable a source, click the X to the left of it (that my green arrow is pointing at).

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 27th February 2011, 20:33
MechaNovaKing MechaNovaKing is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Hmmm still not working.
I've tried a bunch of different combiantion:
I've 'X'ed all but one, so there's only one audio input in the audio mixer.
Have only: Speakers' Audio or Default input or device orline in/mic in

I've tired add three audio inputs and setting them each to: Speakers' Audio or Default input or device orline in/mic in or set all three to one type of audio input

I've tired setting the audio input to choice 0 - no input. But that just kills the sounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amateur radio, auto pilot, broadcasting, camcorder, camera, cant view livestream, delete video, desktop, empty, ham radio, help?, interesting, internet connection, library, live, live event, mac, multi, multiple cameras, new user, newbie, picture in picture, procaster offline help, recording., screen, screen capture, screen share, setting, skype procaster, streaming, technical support, troubleshooting, video, what you hear, window

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump