#1  
Old 14th October 2010, 21:22
Xepharon Xepharon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Default USB headset use does not allow sound

I use a Logitech USB microphone/headphone combination device, but when I have that plugged in, the procaster refuses to pick up any of the sound that comes through my headphones. It'll pick up the mic no problem, but it will not even recognize on the mixer volume bar that any sound is playing. The headphones play sound just fine though. How can I correct this, while keeping my headset?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th October 2010, 20:04
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,297
Default

Are you saying that it picks up your headphone mic but not some other sound source that you can hear in your headset.

What OS, XP, Vista, 7?
Have you updated to current version of Procaster?
When you mention "mixer" are you talking the one that's part of your system or the one in Procaster?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th November 2010, 17:46
Taina_Imatake Taina_Imatake is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default

i have the same problem and i have XP , i didnt have this problem when i have vista
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2010, 11:36
Firefox11 Firefox11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Same problem here. I've got this headset from Logitech, and it never recorded sound from the earphones, just the mic. Using WinXP, I just reinstalled Procaster. Messing with the mixers doesn't seem to fix the issue either, and on Procaster's Mixer I get the options of 'Default input device', 'Logitech USB Headset' and 'Speaker's Audio'.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th December 2010, 15:40
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,297
Default

People please include more details than "same problem." We may note differences that may not be obvious to you. Please include complete details always.

FireFox11, your post doesn't make sense to me. One wouldn't record sound from earphones. One records sound from microphones. In general you may need to look at both your OS's sound mixer as well as Procaster's mixer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th December 2010, 18:33
Firefox11 Firefox11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Alright, sorry if I wasn't clear.

What I want Procaster to do (although I'm unsure if it's possible) is to both record my voice from the microphone while it also records what I'm hearing from the earphones. As it is right now, people who watched my livestream can only hear my voice.

I've played around with Procaster's Mixer as well as the input/output sound mixer settings of my OS to no avail. I don't know if it's just an unsupported function for WinXP OS or I'm doing something wrong.

If you could specify what details do you want, it would make it easier for me to give you all the information you want.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th December 2010, 20:30
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,297
Default

Got it. I have a Windows XP computer which has the same issue. I've never been able to resolve it. What sound card and driver are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th December 2010, 17:57
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Currently Audio Mixing is not supported in Windows XP machines, which is why you are experiencing this problem. It is supported in Vista and Windows 7.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th December 2010, 11:32
Firefox11 Firefox11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Oh, I see. Guess there's no need for me to post the sound card & drivers then.

Are you planning to add this feature to WinXP by any chance?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th December 2010, 13:53
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox11 View Post
Oh, I see. Guess there's no need for me to post the sound card & drivers then.

Are you planning to add this feature to WinXP by any chance?
Adding this is not on our roadmap for future releases since it's related to how XP handles audio.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headset, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump