#1  
Old 1st April 2010, 03:08
Shakaku Shakaku is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Question Steam: Just Cause 2

Most of my steam games work (the ones i care about) But Just Cause 2 is giving me the same issue over and over. Here is a screenshot:

I'm about to go to bed so i can' broadcast for you right now, but this is 100% of what i get when i open this game. I tried both runing streight from the exe and through steam.

http://imgur.com/bssDo.png
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th April 2010, 17:26
coryfrans coryfrans is offline
Livestream Procaster Support
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 865
Default

Hello,

We were able to reproduce this bug with this game, and we are working on a fix. If you can, please let me know the specs of your computer so we can isolate the cause of this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th April 2010, 11:21
Shakaku Shakaku is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

i7 920
12GB G.Skill DDR3 1333
BFG GTX280
Asus P6T Deluxe
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Samsung 245BW - 1920x1200 Main
Dell 2001FP - 1600x1200 2nd

I have managed to fix the problem temporarily by using Windowed mode, but full screen still messes up.

Also would you have any idea as to why me and my friend stream the exact same games, using the same free account set up, exact same Procaster settings, near identical system specs, but my streams show a large amount of blurring and "waffling" or "Mosaic" fuzz. It happens when there is a lot of movement. If you go to my channel and watch any of the recorded Battlefield BC2 footage, you'll see what I mean.

My friends channel doesn't do this. Is this a processor/compression problem? Or is this an ISP Problem? We both have very generous bandwidth.

Mine - livestream.com/shakaku
His - livestream.com/michaelwnelson

Last edited by Shakaku; 7th April 2010 at 11:27. Reason: added channel names
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th July 2010, 00:03
Talkoon Talkoon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Anyone have an answer to this problem?

I'm experiencing it as well althought I wasn't earlier today. Nothing has changed on my system between now and then.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th July 2010, 11:52
Talkoon Talkoon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Here is a VoD showing the problem.

http://www.livestream.com/talkoonsga...5-7d72873ca9af
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th July 2010, 13:12
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talkoon View Post
Talkoon,

We are aware of the issue broadcasting Just Cause 2 with Procaster and are working on a solution. We do not have an estimated time of when this fix will be available at this point.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th July 2010, 13:22
EugeeTV EugeeTV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Default

The waffling/artifacts sounds like codec difference to me.

H264 pixelates badly when it can't keep up with the motion.
OnVP6 blurs instead of pixelating, that's why game streamers want it put back in.

For low motion games H264 looks better than VP6, but for high-motion (first person perspective games) I think VP6 is better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th July 2010, 14:36
Talkoon Talkoon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Henry,

Thank you for the response - hoping to see a fix soon!

Eugee, yeah, I only use VP6 for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th July 2010, 18:47
jaycob jaycob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Would cranking up the FPS for the stream help with this pixilation seeing as we can now hit 60FPS on it or would this still give us a bad image quality?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th July 2010, 22:43
Talkoon Talkoon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Its not the FPS that's the problem here; I'm thinking it's a resolution problem. Plus, with only 500kbps max with a free account 60 FPS wouldn't be possible (while keeping decent video quality)

I also use version 10.0.xxx because it allows me to stream using VP6. 264 encoder can't keep up with the amount of motion typically found in games.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
just cause 2, steam

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump