#1  
Old 1st September 2009, 16:02
cpodesta cpodesta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Hauppauge HD PVR

I see Hauppage device on WebCaster, but i cant use it, because when is selected only a black window is visible...

Can Hauppage HD PVR be used on LiveStream?

I'm using Windows Vista Home Premium.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st September 2009, 16:15
benhomer benhomer is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 570
Default

What is the source video resolution? If you're trying to encode in HD The browser based encoder in Webcaster wouldn't be able to handle this high resolution, to broadcast HD you will need Livestream Premium and an encoder such as Wircast with the HD upgrade which can handle an HDV signal.

-Ben
Livestream support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2009, 17:22
cpodesta cpodesta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Lightbulb

I don't try to broadcast hd, my resolution is 720 x 480

Do you know if it is some place where i can configure this (for the device)?

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:23
cpodesta cpodesta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default Workaround

I check some methods found on internet, but finally did it with Procaster, capture screen of software provided with device.

Thanks for all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd March 2010, 22:34
KazoWAR KazoWAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Default Hauppauge HD PVR

Does anyone know if I can use the Hauppauge HD PVR to stream with either Procaster, Webcaster or with the Studio?

Here is the product page.

http://www.hauppauge.com/site/products/data_hdpvr.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2010, 15:26
terranwolf terranwolf is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I have one and have been trying to, but I'm getting "Error Opening Camera" issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st July 2010, 00:37
MediocreXquid MediocreXquid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Exclamation Hauppauge HD PVR + Mac = Lag!

-EDIT-
I've found a simple solution. I do not use Flash Media Encoder anymore. I use FireFox and the broadcast page to stream my content. To fix the lag issue, you simply "right-click" all of the applications besides VLC and click "Hide". This makes a lot more room for VLC to eat up some CPU/memory. You also have to quit all necessary applications that don't contribute to streaming.

------------------

Please keep in mind while reading this, my internet connection is fine. It's the capture preview that lags.

I want to livestream my Gameplay with minimal lag. I have a Mid2009 Macbook Pro 13" with 2.26Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor and 4GB RAM. I have a Hauppage HDPVR and use HDPVR Capture to record and preview my gameplay. I then use Camtwist to select the capture preview window using the Desktop and Desktop+ video sources. Then I run Flash Media Encoder to stream the Camtwist video source. My video and audio settings are:

-Video-
Format: VP6 with default options
Framerate: 30fps
Input Size: 720x480 w/out Maintaining Aspect Ratio
Bitrate: 500kbps
Output Size: 720x480
Crop, Deinterlace, and Timecode and UNchecked.

-Audio-
Device: Soundflower (2ch)
Format: MP3
Channels: Mono
Sample Rate: 22050
Bitrate: 48kbps

Panel Options: Output
Auto-Adjust UNchecked

Camtwist Preferences:
Audio Output Device: Soundflower (2ch)
Video Size: 720x480

VLC is the program that opens up when I click "Preview" in HDPVR Capture. It's what the viewers will see when I livestream. I try to resize the window to 720x480.

So the only programs open when I record are:
HDPVR Capture
VLC Media Player
Camtwist
Flash Media Encoder

Keep in mind I have 4GB RAM and Intel Core 2 Duo Processor.

So the final question. Is it possible with my setup to livestream my gameplay with the Hauppauge HD PVR on Mac with minimal lag?

Please and thank you to all that can help!

Last edited by MediocreXquid; 1st July 2010 at 15:03. Reason: Issue Solved
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st July 2010, 21:45
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,296
Default

Have you tried using Procaster with its screen capture feature and SoundFlower (which you are using) for the audio?

When you say lag was it the audio out of sync (lagging) the video or was it just the delay between when you were doing and what you were seeing on the screen?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd July 2010, 19:50
MediocreXquid MediocreXquid is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

No, I wasn't using the audio for the game I was streaming. I use the Line-In port, anyway. It was just that the video was choppy, but I fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st August 2010, 05:54
Dimebag16 Dimebag16 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

anybody ever figure this out as i'm having the same problems now?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capture, card, certified device, chat, hauppage, hauppauge hd pvr, hauppauge hd pvr mac, live, xbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump