#1  
Old 3rd October 2008, 03:30
Lurknjerk Lurknjerk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default Use uploaded file as master

What exactly does this do? I don't understand what having master and slave media clips would benefit from. Any insight?

btw, thanks for adding aspect ratio. No more stretchy movies makes my day. on another note, can i just click the re-import button for currently stretchy clips and it will fix it, or do I have to re-upload all of those for the correct aspect ratio to be corrected.

edit: Apparently old clips aren't still stored on the server. How long are clips stored on the server so it can be reinported. I tried my theory out and was received with a error message talking about "Failed to ingest metadata." which i assume is the upload Pre-encode.

Last edited by Lurknjerk; 3rd October 2008 at 04:55.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd October 2008, 11:47
davidaron davidaron is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to davidaron
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurknjerk View Post
What exactly does this do? I don't understand what having master and slave media clips would benefit from. Any insight?

btw, thanks for adding aspect ratio. No more stretchy movies makes my day. on another note, can i just click the re-import button for currently stretchy clips and it will fix it, or do I have to re-upload all of those for the correct aspect ratio to be corrected.

edit: Apparently old clips aren't still stored on the server. How long are clips stored on the server so it can be reinported. I tried my theory out and was received with a error message talking about "Failed to ingest metadata." which i assume is the upload Pre-encode.
The "Use uploaded file as master" may offer the option to stream in the video's native format, (.mp4) as opposed to the trans coded flash video (.flv format) which Mogulus normally converts to? Anybody try this function yet?

Last edited by davidaron; 4th October 2008 at 02:46.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd October 2008, 14:22
Lurknjerk Lurknjerk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Interesting this may allow for greater quality, i shall try it out later.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd October 2008, 20:58
Lurknjerk Lurknjerk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Well, I uploaded a file as master along side a similar file that wasn't and I don't see any difference at all. The new format button shows that it was encoded exactly the same way, and I don't see any new options or anything that differentiates it from another file that didn't have that box checked. Can anyone from Mogulus's team enlighten us?

Edit: Just saw the new post. This is what it explains it to be

The "Use File as Master" option allows you to upload an FLV video without it being re-encoded by Mogulus servers. This is great if you have existing videos that have been encoded in VP6 using On2 Flix Standard or Flix Pro encoders.
When the Use File as Master box is checked the file will not be transcoded and will be streamed exactly as it was encoded by you.

I'm guessing I didn't notice any difference because it wasn't a FLV file to begin with.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th October 2008, 02:45
davidaron davidaron is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to davidaron
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurknjerk View Post
Well, I uploaded a file as master along side a similar file that wasn't and I don't see any difference at all. The new format button shows that it was encoded exactly the same way, and I don't see any new options or anything that differentiates it from another file that didn't have that box checked. Can anyone from Mogulus's team enlighten us?

Edit: Just saw the new post. This is what it explains it to be

The "Use File as Master" option allows you to upload an FLV video without it being re-encoded by Mogulus servers. This is great if you have existing videos that have been encoded in VP6 using On2 Flix Standard or Flix Pro encoders.
When the Use File as Master box is checked the file will not be transcoded and will be streamed exactly as it was encoded by you.

I'm guessing I didn't notice any difference because it wasn't a FLV file to begin with.
Ahh, right, LnJ.
Thank you.

This is nice, We just need to remember to keep the bit rates as specified: 400Kbps video / 64Kbps audio, 480x360, 25fps.

Interesting to note Mogulus doesn't encode to 30fps. I always thought it did, and the player was just dropping frames!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th October 2008, 04:04
TrunkzJr TrunkzJr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidaron View Post
Ahh, right, LnJ.
Thank you.

This is nice, We just need to remember to keep the bit rates as specified: 400Kbps video / 64Kbps audio, 480x360, 25fps.

Interesting to note Mogulus doesn't encode to 30fps. I always thought it did, and the player was just dropping frames!
I added Excel Saga (an anime series) to my channel, I did 1-6 normal, and 7+ with this feature.

All .flv and you can totally see a difference in quality, very nice. I hope they let you allow .mkv some day lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th October 2008, 06:46
davidaron davidaron is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to davidaron
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrunkzJr View Post
I added Excel Saga (an anime series) to my channel, I did 1-6 normal, and 7+ with this feature.

All .flv and you can totally see a difference in quality, very nice. I hope they let you allow .mkv some day lol
That's great!
What's .mkv, btw?

Last edited by davidaron; 5th October 2008 at 07:32.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2008, 16:11
Lurknjerk Lurknjerk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default

MKV allows for different audio tracks. It's popular for anime.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th October 2008, 01:56
davidaron davidaron is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Send a message via Skype™ to davidaron
Red face

Thanks, LnJ. That would be a cool function.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th October 2008, 15:39
Evermind_tv Evermind_tv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Unhappy Use upload files as master

what does this mean? does this mean use the aspect size as master. or does it mean the first thig you will see is that uploaded file. please help as im intregued but i dont want to touch it =S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
confused

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump