#1  
Old 12th September 2009, 18:33
Hydraflux Hydraflux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Unhappy Sudden FPS drop

So, I've been streaming PC games for about 2 months using procaster, streaming at 30 FPS every time. About 2 weeks ago, the FPS in the stream suddenly dropped to 10, then 8, then 5, while the game's FPS was still 55-60. I didn't change any of my settings, and I wasn't playing a new game.

Ever since then, when I stream ANY game, the stream's FPS starts out at around 25, and then drops to 4-8 FPS in about 30 seconds and stays there. Is this procaster's fault? I've noticed ever since livestream "updated" it, it's gotten far worse. Has anyone else had this problem? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th September 2009, 02:53
England4eva England4eva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Default

Hi,

This sounds very similar to the problem i`m having...

http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1711

What resolution are you streaming in? Also trying dropping the resolution and see if it still happends... its not a solution really but if it works then there doesn`t seem to be any alternative to dropping the resolution in Procaster.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2009, 13:40
Hydraflux Hydraflux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Unhappy

You mean the resolution of the game or my screen resolution? I've tried both and I still get the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th September 2009, 22:39
kamnet kamnet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 75
Default

Are you sure the problem is not with your Internet provider? Have you tried running a ping/traceroute to Livestream's servers? Alternately, try connecting to Livestream using Adobe Flash Media Encoder, it gives a lot of statistics on your stream.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2009, 19:10
Hydraflux Hydraflux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kamnet View Post
Are you sure the problem is not with your Internet provider? Have you tried running a ping/traceroute to Livestream's servers? Alternately, try connecting to Livestream using Adobe Flash Media Encoder, it gives a lot of statistics on your stream.
Thanks for the reply, I've actually tried using Adobe Flash Media Encoder, the stream looked far worse and had even lower FPS so I uninstalled soon after. Also, what's a traceroute?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th September 2009, 17:35
Saralene Saralene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beckley, WV, USA
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Saralene Send a message via MSN to Saralene Send a message via Yahoo to Saralene Send a message via Skype™ to Saralene
Angry

This is happening to me too.
It happens with both the new beta of Procaster and the previous version.
It's really infuriating, because it's totally ruined my ability to stream things.
Dropping resolution, bitrate, etc has no effect on the problem and the Procaster logs don't say anything helpful.
It happens with both old and new so it must be on the server side.
It's extremely troublesome.

Also, sometimes when this happens, the videos won't be recorded even if that option was enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st September 2009, 02:30
England4eva England4eva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Default

Hi,

What resolution are you streaming at? Ie, what setting in Procaster.

I find this only happens when I try to stream at 800x600, but 640x480 seems to stay more stable but obviously with a worse quality. Shame I can`t stream at 800x600 with a solid constant fps as the viewing quality is far superior
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st September 2009, 08:28
Saralene Saralene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beckley, WV, USA
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Saralene Send a message via MSN to Saralene Send a message via Yahoo to Saralene Send a message via Skype™ to Saralene
Default

For me, this happens at any resolution setting, even 320x240.
It also happens at any quality setting, no matter how low.
Even the default "Low Quality" settings just don't work for me anymore.
It's just a matter of time. Sometimes I get lucky and it takes 10 minutes.
Eventually the "FPS bomb" will drop right down onto it, assuming I get proper FPS at all.
Usually it takes so little time that it's barely worth trying.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st September 2009, 09:20
England4eva England4eva is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Default

Saralene, just as a matter of interest, what is the upload speed of your connection?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd September 2009, 22:47
Saralene Saralene is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beckley, WV, USA
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Saralene Send a message via MSN to Saralene Send a message via Yahoo to Saralene Send a message via Skype™ to Saralene
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by England4eva View Post
Saralene, just as a matter of interest, what is the upload speed of your connection?
About 90 kilobytes (not kilobits) per second.
It worked well before the new beta came out, or around then at least.
I stream with low quality settings, occasionally low-quality VBR.
(For me, VBR neither helps nor worsens this problem)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fps, frame drops, frame rate, low, settings

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump