Old 29th March 2014, 16:57

Default CPU over 80%, but nothing's running

Not a single thing is running on my laptop but Procaster, and the CPU is constantly, consistently over 80%. A few seconds after I try and start streaming, it shoots up immediately, sometimes directly to 100%.

I'm a complete noob to all this techy stuff; I haven't a single clue what any of this means or what I'm suppose to do about it.

I'm beginning to fear my laptop just isn't strong/fast enough to handle livestream... I hope not.

Infostuffs:

Windows 8
Manufacturer: Toshiba
Model: Satellite C855D
Processor: AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics 1.40GHz
Installed memory(RAM): 4.00 GB (3.59 usable)
System Type: 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

Last edited by LastTyme; 29th March 2014 at 17:01.
Old 30th March 2014, 09:34
Super Moderator

Hi,

You could try streaming at a lower quality. You'll see a dramatic drop in your CPU numbers. For example, most laptops don't have enough power to send out a 4 quality (HD + High + Medium + Mobile) stream, but they have adequate CPU to maintain a Medium + Mobile stream.

We recommend your computer to have at least the following system specifications in order to have the best experience with Procaster:

Quad Core CPU
4GB RAM
1500Kbps upload bandwidth (check this by visiting www.speedtest.net)
Dedicated video card, 512MB VRAM
Windows Vista / Windows 7
Mac OS X 10.6 or higher

If you believe your machine fits these specs and you're still having CPU issues, please open a support ticket in our help center so we can better help you troubleshoot (http://help.livestream.com/customer/portal/emails/new)

Thanks!

Livestream Producer Support
Old 30th March 2014, 19:25

I'm sorry, but it doesn't feel like you actually read my post.

I have no idea if my computer fits those qualifications, because I'm not exactly great with technology. I've done the speed test, and posted the results.