Old 5th May 2013, 01:35

Default JVC GV-LS2 Live Streaming Camera

I'm interested in how this JVC camera interacts with Livestream. I'm a novice at streaming, and it seems that this camera has a lot of features that I'm looking for - HD recording, remote PTZ, ability to manage up to 4 cameras with a software interface.

I'm currently experimenting with one camera. I was able to get it to show up on my Mac, but in order to use the software, I need to be able to boot up in Windows. WHile I get that setup, I'm looking at whether Livestream or Ustream would be compatible with this camera.
Old 11th May 2013, 13:10

Default I works BUT...

I have been testing it for the last couple weeks. Basically my setup is, I connected the camera through WPS to my Wi-Fi router. And that is simply to control it either through my crome web browser (or most others) on my iMac, or through the app on my iPhone. That has been satisfactory. Not too many problems but it took a while to figure everything out so that it would work efficiently. JVC customer service has been helpful with that.

As far as the video-out connection, I use component cables to go into the blackmagic intensity extreme capture box, then from there connect to my iMac with the thunderbolt cable. I run it into my wirecast software, which has been the best so far. I have also tried camtwist and that works too. But I would say the best choice is Wirecast. I have been streaming through ustream and that works great so far (so does Livestream). At first I had some issues but I just tweaked the settings because I believe it was my connection issues. (lowered the bit rate etc.) The only thing I need to figure out yet is audio in through the external mic input is crackling and clipping so I might need to use a mic level attenuator (as someone suggested) besides that the quality of the stream seems to be really good as long as you have a decent Internet connection but that is necessary for any type of camera.
Pros: