#1  
Old 19th March 2013, 12:25
chitownlounge chitownlounge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default Multi/Adaptive Bit Rate Streaming with Broadcaster

If I have a 3-5 MBps upload speed, is multiple bit rate streaming available with the Livestream Broadcaster (for new livestream)?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th March 2013, 08:06
ruheed's Avatar
ruheed ruheed is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 97
Default

chitownlounge,

The Broadcaster device only supports single bitrate encoding. You can choose between Mobile, Normal, Medium, High and HD 720p (2.3Mbps) qualities.
__________________
Ruheed
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th March 2013, 12:24
chitownlounge chitownlounge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Please tell me if understand this correctly: If I record a 720p HD stream via the Broadcaster to my New Livestream.com account, then users would only be able to see my stream effectively if they have the Upload bandwidth available for 720p HD? If they were in a poor internet or a mobile phone, then they won't be able to see my steam, right?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st March 2013, 03:07
ruheed's Avatar
ruheed ruheed is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 97
Default

chitownlounge,

Yes, you are correct. The viewer would require the appropriate download bandwidth(i.e 2.3 Mbps) to view the 720p stream.
__________________
Ruheed
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st March 2013, 11:17
chitownlounge chitownlounge is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 14
Default

So, the HD functionality in the Livestream Broadcaster seems pointless if live streaming to the general public, right? Because you'd never want to send the HD feed anyways. Probably 360p or lower. Sigh. Ok, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st March 2013, 17:21
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chitownlounge View Post
So, the HD functionality in the Livestream Broadcaster seems pointless if live streaming to the general public, right? Because you'd never want to send the HD feed anyways. Probably 360p or lower. Sigh. Ok, thanks!
If viewing from a home network, the ability to view without issue is higher but you are correct, it would lower the possibility of reaching a maximum amount of viewers. If using the Broadcaster, you may want to select the Medium quality which will offer a good quality SD feed that will be accessible by most viewers.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump