#1  
Old 21st January 2013, 17:27
SolsticeRose SolsticeRose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Exclamation cpu usage

hi, im an artist who uses the procaster to livestream what i draw and lately the latest version of the procaster gives me some cpu usage problems

it hasnt been doing this before i got the latest version

every time i start the procaster and begin streaming, the cpu skyrockets to anything above 80%

yet when i dont have it streaming, it stays really low, like my normal cpu usage.

i usually have firefox open with about 9 or less tabs and paint tool sai open, thats it

i want a good answer on what i should do to lower the cpu while streaming, please do a good job on trying to help cause it seems the staff here lately doesnt take their time to try to help out the users....

if you need any information, i will do my best to try to provide with the necessary information needed.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd January 2013, 10:20
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

SolsticeRose,

I would suggest closing at least some of your Firefox tabs, if not the entire browser. Basically, you should try to keep as little open as possible, especially if the programs are not crucial to your broadcast. Could you try this and let me know your result?
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th March 2013, 22:33
SolsticeRose SolsticeRose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default

i used to keep several tabs open, but now i usually try to keep open no more than about 4 and the bitrate still skyrockets...

most of the time i really would need to keep firefox open so closing it isnt an option unfortunately.

are there any recommended settings for keeping a low bitrate?

my target bitrate is at 300

Last edited by SolsticeRose; 30th March 2013 at 22:43.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2013, 12:20
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolsticeRose View Post
i used to keep several tabs open, but now i usually try to keep open no more than about 4 and the bitrate still skyrockets...

most of the time i really would need to keep firefox open so closing it isnt an option unfortunately.

are there any recommended settings for keeping a low bitrate?

my target bitrate is at 300
SolsticeRose,

If any of those 4 tabs are using the Adobe Flash Plugin, that can tend to utilize a big chunk of your CPU. Please post your PC specs so I can post a more specific response.

-Processor Model
-RAM
-Internet connection (Wired/WiFi)
-Speed (visit http://newyork.speedtest.net)
-Operating system
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th April 2013, 21:16
SolsticeRose SolsticeRose is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Default

here's the info you need:

-AMD Athlon II P230 Dual-Core Processor 2.10 GHz
-Installed Memory(RAM): 2.00 GB (1.74 GB usable)
-I use wifi
-Speed: Ping - 73ms Download Speed - 1.79mbps Upload Speed - 1.00mbps
-My operating system is Windows 7 Professional (32 bit)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th April 2013, 16:50
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolsticeRose View Post
here's the info you need:

-AMD Athlon II P230 Dual-Core Processor 2.10 GHz
-Installed Memory(RAM): 2.00 GB (1.74 GB usable)
-I use wifi
-Speed: Ping - 73ms Download Speed - 1.79mbps Upload Speed - 1.00mbps
-My operating system is Windows 7 Professional (32 bit)
SolsticeRose,

It looks like your PC is just meeting the minimum specification for broadcasting. This means that you're unable to both Broadcast and keep your browser open at the same time due to limitations of your CPU.

To resolve this you will need to upgrade your system.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cpu usage, livestream, procaster

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump