#11  
Old 21st July 2011, 10:14
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micax View Post
Jason: Yeah. The camera as A/V output. I think there are some "boxes" that convert AV to HDMI or to USB, right? Please help
If your computer doesn't recognize your camera through HDMI, then I doubt you'll be able to capture the feed that way (sounds like your port is HDMI-out only). There aren't currently any USB capture devices supported by Procaster. Does your laptop have a firewire port?

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th July 2011, 08:59
micax micax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default

i dont think so. I don't know if the laptop recognizes the cam with HMDI because i didnt bought none of them yet. I dont want to buy them and then cant use it......
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18th March 2012, 21:49
paulgagu paulgagu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default HDMI in laptops

Guys,
There is no way a lapto recognize any camera using the HDMI PORT, this port is on OUTPUT PORT is not able to received signal, you need a HDMI CAPTURE as someone mentioned here, like the Black Magic or there are other solutions if you definitely need to go with a laptop but not using the HDMI port.

The Black Magic Intensity solution with usb 3.0 is quit "picky" and is not sure it will work with any usb 3.0 port as it need lots of power and even in a tower just works with some (just some) kind of motherboards I suggested you do your homework before buy oneof these, we had to "buy" a computer for this little box (means we first get the capture device and after see specifications we assembly a special computer for it with all bells).

Black Magic also has a Intensity solution with Thunderbolt ports, in this case you need a Mac laptop but this solutions (based on others experience) works better than the usb3.0.

My last suggestion, is to stream video definitely better a tower than a laptop you can have more resources and better specifications, laptop just in last case. We broadcasted 2 years in a row from different locations and we had to use laptops and we know the limitations of these special with HD inputs.

If you need to go the "laptop way" explore these capture solutions:
Using Express cards:
1) MOTU HD Express HDMI Video Interface $495 (really cool and reliable you need a express card port in your laptop)
2) Matrox MXO2 Mini for PC $490 (reliable in Mac and works really good with windows 7, need express card) there is a MX02 MAX Mini for $850 with breakout box.
Using Firewire:
1) Grass valley ADVC-HD50 $700 (investigate first I know some people cant connect their camera to Livestream Producer using it and some they could, is something to do with HDV wirefire compression but Im not try it myself)
Using USB 2.0:
1) Hauppauge HD PVR - High Def Video Recorder 01445 $180 (I cant believe this thing works but some reviews suggested works fine for HD video you will need a HDMI adapter $5)
2) AVerMedia AVerTV USB HD DVR $160 (again I cant believe but works for some people and high quality video is reported, it has a HDMI OUPTU so you need a HDMI apater also with this capture box)
Hope this is useful for someone.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th March 2012, 10:36
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

Additional info on HD capture devices certified for use with Procaster can be found in the Livestream Store, here:

http://store.livestream.com/collecti...aptop-encoding

Matt
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13th August 2012, 23:29
luisare luisare is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Default ATEM television Studio

I see that the blackmagic H.264 recorder can encode strait to Livestream. Since the ATEM Television Studio also has a H.264 encoder could this also be used? I would be running 2 Mac Pros, 1 for encoding and streaming and the other to control the ATEM
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 14th August 2012, 18:02
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,503
Default

luisare,

The ATEM TVS will function in your workflow as you've noted.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canon 7d, hdmi, pc computer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump