#1  
Old 24th November 2011, 15:29
darthacheros darthacheros is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default Change offline screen?

Simple, yet strange question. I'm not sure where I should put this so I'm putting it here, I feel this is the best place for it. I'd like to change my "offline" screen from the default to something different. Specifically, static. Is there a way i can do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th November 2011, 15:14
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

You can create a 10 second movie clip of a static image and upload it to your library. Then place it in auto-pilot, and each time a user visits your channel when you are not broadcasting live, they will see the clip of your static image, which will loop. This can easily be done by using Procaster's screen capture function, and using the zoom function to crop around your image.

You can learn more about auto-pilot at the following URL: http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...o_on_autopilot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th June 2012, 15:14
rouxbevideo rouxbevideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default autopilot

Could you please clarify if we can change the offline image to the method suggested without a paid account?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th June 2012, 18:10
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

rouxbevideo,

This method will work on free as well as a Premium channels.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th July 2012, 19:53
TyrantProductions TyrantProductions is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ernielive View Post
rouxbevideo,

This method will work on free as well as a Premium channels.
Does this count against your viewer hours? Or is there anyway to have a custom offline screen?

For example, during an event, if there is going to be a delay or something, we usually shut the feed off to save expenses from high viewer hours. We'd like to be able to give them an estimated time of return, or some kind of update rather than just going offline and they aren't sure what is going on.

We've experimented with the overlay titles in LiveStream Studio, but for some reason, viewers can only see this on our channel page and not on embedded players or mobile devices.

I was told by support a few months ago that unless the offline screen is showing, it could count against our viewer hours.

Has this changed in anyway?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th July 2012, 12:41
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

TyrantProductions,

Yes, that would count as viewer hours used; only the offline bars do not add to your viewer hours.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th July 2012, 14:55
TyrantProductions TyrantProductions is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for the reply, Ernie. Are there any plans in the future for adding some kind of place holder feature that does not count against viewer hours?

I guess we will continue to stick with the lower third option from LS Studio.

As mentioned before, this hasn't been very solid as it only displays if they are watching the live feed on the channel page. It does not work on an embedded player or mobile device.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th July 2012, 15:25
ernielive's Avatar
ernielive ernielive is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

You can use the test card function to place a full screen graphic of your choosing over the stream, regardless of live or offline status. You could put up your test card then stop the broadcast, and drop the test card when the broadcast resumes. This will prevent your viewers from seeing the offline bars, and can be seen in embedded players. The test card can be no larger than 100kb, cannot be viewed in mobile devices, and must be enabled/disabled through the Studio.
__________________
Ernie
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th July 2012, 17:08
TyrantProductions TyrantProductions is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Does this test card count against the viewer hours since offline is not showing?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd March 2013, 17:13
FluffytheElite2 FluffytheElite2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Where would i find the Control auto-pilot tab at?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump