#1  
Old 8th September 2011, 23:14
GamersBuffet GamersBuffet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default How Do You Commentate Over Cameras?

Livestream Community,

In my past events, one of the problems I had streaming is that I don't know how to commentate over other cameras. I want the ability to switch between cameras but still be commentating and not have the camera's sound to be broadcasted. I've gone over most of the user guide. I can't find the solution for my issue there or I might of skipped it so it would be appreciated if you could link me to the solution. So my question is, how do I commentate over cameras?

Thanks.

Last edited by GamersBuffet; 8th September 2011 at 23:21.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th September 2011, 17:55
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersBuffet View Post
I want the ability to switch between cameras but still be commentating and not have the camera's sound to be broadcasted.
Gamersbuffet,

The best way to accomplish a single audio feed over multiple video feeds is to use a video switcher. On the lower end you could go with an analog switcher like the DataVideo 960:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Switcher.html

Because this is an analog switcher, you would still need to use an A/V converter such as a a Canopus ADVC-110 to convert to Firewire.

On the higher end, Panasonic offers a switcher that will allow you to do a full HD-SDI workflow:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Switcher.html

You could also use something like a TriCaster, which would encode your feed while allowing you to switch on the back end.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2011, 21:29
GamersBuffet GamersBuffet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
Gamersbuffet,

The best way to accomplish a single audio feed over multiple video feeds is to use a video switcher. On the lower end you could go with an analog switcher like the DataVideo 960:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Switcher.html

Because this is an analog switcher, you would still need to use an A/V converter such as a a Canopus ADVC-110 to convert to Firewire.

On the higher end, Panasonic offers a switcher that will allow you to do a full HD-SDI workflow:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Switcher.html

You could also use something like a TriCaster, which would encode your feed while allowing you to switch on the back end.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Best,
Jason
Is there a free software that can do this? I can't do this in the Livestream Studio? I have streamers around the world and I don't think I have wires long enough to reach me in California. XD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2011, 20:49
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersBuffet View Post
Is there a free software that can do this? I can't do this in the Livestream Studio? I have streamers around the world and I don't think I have wires long enough to reach me in California. XD
It's not possible to switch between sources while maintaining a single audio feed within the Livestream Studio. Audio would come from whichever video source is cued live.

I'm not aware of any software that would accomplish this workflow for video sources in different remote locations.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2011, 23:04
GamersBuffet GamersBuffet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
It's not possible to switch between sources while maintaining a single audio feed within the Livestream Studio. Audio would come from whichever video source is cued live.

I'm not aware of any software that would accomplish this workflow for video sources in different remote locations.

Best,
Jason
Is Livestream considering adding a feature where you can maintain a single audio feed between multiple sources?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2011, 11:07
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GamersBuffet View Post
Is Livestream considering adding a feature where you can maintain a single audio feed between multiple sources?
This has been discussed, but I don't have an ETA on when this will be implemented. However this becomes much more complicated if your video is coming from remote sources. You might want to rethink your workflow, if possible.

A piece of software such as Telestream's Wirecast would enable you to switch between video sources connected to your computer while maintaining a single audio source (this software is not free). A solution might be to capture the remote video source in a media player, screen captured on your desktop. You would then be able to switch between your camera and the media player, while maintaining a single audio source.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th September 2011, 19:54
GamersBuffet GamersBuffet is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
This has been discussed, but I don't have an ETA on when this will be implemented. However this becomes much more complicated if your video is coming from remote sources. You might want to rethink your workflow, if possible.

A piece of software such as Telestream's Wirecast would enable you to switch between video sources connected to your computer while maintaining a single audio source (this software is not free). A solution might be to capture the remote video source in a media player, screen captured on your desktop. You would then be able to switch between your camera and the media player, while maintaining a single audio source.

Best,
Jason
I hope you guys implement that feature ASAP! Thanks for the support!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th October 2011, 19:13
Listraor Listraor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Using a mic whilst playing a storyboards and videos

Hi,

I want to always have my mic on whilst streaming, however when I click on a playlist it kills my mic connection until I come back to using my webcam. Is there a setting to have the mic constantly on regardless of what video is being played?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump