#1  
Old 21st September 2010, 18:50
projectreveal projectreveal is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 28
Default How to LIVE Stream ANY camcorder!!! :)

Hey all.

i am pleased to announce how to live stream any camcorder

if you have a camcorder what doesnt have I.link OR Fire wire connections it can be tricky to find the compenents and costly...

But here is the cheapest option.

so if you was going to buy a camcorder with fire wire connection or a fire wire port, or anything costly!!! please dont...

As you can buy a DVR capture card... dont buy from any main store as they are like 60 - 70 pounds but go onto ebay... and you can pick them up for 10 - 20 usd.. search for "grabber usb audio video"

once that as come.. connect your AV cable with your camcorder into the DVR card, some DVR cards come with a direct slot into your camcorder but if not.. just connect the supplied AV cable from your camcorder into the DVR...

Open live stream, click find camera's choose your camera, then open the software from your computer and you will be live from your camcorder.

I hope this saves you money!
__________________
www.mogulus.com/projectreveal
www.liveparanormaltv.com
www.project-reveal.com A great paranormal investigations site!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th September 2010, 13:42
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,297
Default

Just a warning that some people experience driver and/or audio sync issues with some of these cards. It depends on the card and driver.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2011, 21:21
Paz_11 Paz_11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Red face Live stream off a camcorder...

How do i streamlive, with a camcorder?
Here's what i have:

Mac book Pro, Panasonic DVX 100, Firewire 400 to DV cable
and i have a working account with livestream.com

I thought that was all i needed. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st September 2011, 04:48
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

Paz_11,

Are you using Procaster to encode, if not I suggest doing so. I know that our production teams have previously used this camera with Livestream without issue. Is there any specific reason why you are unable to stream, or are you just looking for the directions to start off?

Matt
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th October 2011, 17:35
damascovi damascovi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default Camcorder Canon for Livestream

Good day,

I have a camcorder Canon and want to use it with my livestream account. I am presently using my webcam but for large areas it won't give me a sharp look. I want to be able to zoom in to individuals in a gathering and have acceptable view.

Also how can I get to eliminate any eco from a speaker in a conference room. I am thinking on pluging the microphone outlet on my laptop to the voice system directly and only get the audio from the person making the presentation.

Do I need some sort of adaptor to connect my camcorder to the laptop.

thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th October 2011, 18:59
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by damascovi View Post
Good day,

I have a camcorder Canon and want to use it with my livestream account. I am presently using my webcam but for large areas it won't give me a sharp look. I want to be able to zoom in to individuals in a gathering and have acceptable view.

Also how can I get to eliminate any eco from a speaker in a conference room. I am thinking on pluging the microphone outlet on my laptop to the voice system directly and only get the audio from the person making the presentation.

Do I need some sort of adaptor to connect my camcorder to the laptop.

thanks,
Damascovi,

What is the model of your Canon camera? If it is a DV camera, you should be able to use a firewire cable to stream the image from your camera.
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th October 2011, 10:46
usembassyTV usembassyTV is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default Get an expansion card (express card) with Firewire ports

we wanted to use our canon vixia with our laptop to stream live events.
we bought a Express Card with 2 firewire ports (37 usd), plugged it into our laptops expansion card slot, tehn connected the camera to that Firewire port using a Firewire cable.

as recommended we installed Livestream Producer on our laptop, selected the Microsoft DV option for video input and it worked excellent

we noticed the only issue is that it does not support Full HDV trasnmissions, but it is because we are using the free version.

hope it is useful for you. we are starting with this, so we will keep investigating, but we are very interested in mobile live broadcasting.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th October 2011, 16:50
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

I just wanted to point out that cameras in HDV mode aren't supported by Procaster with a free or Premium Livestream account. To stream in HD, you would need to install an HD capture card [something from the Blackmagic Decklink series, for example] and connect your camera to it via HDMI or HD-SDI. You can find more info here:
http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...sing_Procaster

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th October 2011, 00:29
Pilgrim731 Pilgrim731 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Default Canon HF R200

"projectreveal" suggests using a USB A/V grabber. I have tried that, and yes, the computer will recognize the grabber but Procaster will not, nor the camera connected to the grabber.

I am trying to use a Canon HF R200 camcorder and it seems the only port on the camera that might work is the composite port. That is how I connected the camera to the grabber.

A notebook computer has to be used for my project, so an internal card won't work. Besides, the cost of a card approaches what the Canon cost!

I think I will have to buy on eBay an old DV camcorder which has a Firewire port to be able to livestream.

If anyone has any affordable suggestions otherwise, I would like to hear from you.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th October 2011, 18:32
brian770 brian770 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Default

hi everyone,
i am in desperate need of help. i am using a capture cable that allowes me to use my camcorder on the PC, i am having a problem with procaster seeing my camera. all other programs i have see it but i cant stream yet. my event is coming up in a week. i have run out of resources and getting this capture card was the end, i got it at the post at the top of this thread. well, it does not work.
can anybody walk me through the steps needed to stream, procaster says no camera.
thanks,

Last edited by brian770; 14th October 2011 at 18:38.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump