#1  
Old 13th April 2011, 08:45
mactalk mactalk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Wirecast 4 & Livestream iOS

Hey guys,
Just wondering if it's possible to stream using Wirecast 4 and have the resulting Livestream video be iOS compatible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th April 2011, 13:46
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

To stream to both your channel page and mobile devices I would recommend using Procaster.

Matt
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th April 2011, 16:31
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Your stream will be iOS compatible as long as it's encoded in H.264 (mp4) format with AAC audio. Also, your viewers must have enough bandwidth to watch. Procaster is recommended for streaming to mobile devices, because it generates a high quality stream for PC users and a mobile quality stream for mobile users simultaneously.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th April 2011, 16:32
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,298
Default

In Wirecast, this should work.

 Open Wirecast and enter "Broadcast settings"
 In that section, Add a new destination by clicking on the '+' below the list.
 Select "Flash Low Bandwidth" as the Encoder Preset
 Destination: RTMP Flash Sever
+Address: Input the following address:

rtmp://publish.livestream.com/mogulus/channelname/username=UserName/password=YourPassword/isAutoLive=true/iphone=true
--replace information in bold with your own credentials

 User Agent: Wirecast/FM 1.0->Stream name : Any one word name without space or
special charecters Ex:
"stream"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2011, 22:50
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,298
Default

It seems Wirecast 4 will now stream to iOS devices as long as your encoder settings are within the specs the iOS device can handle. No longer need to enter in the rtmp parameters. Using the Wirecast Livesream built in setup works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th May 2011, 16:40
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cseeman View Post
It seems Wirecast 4 will now stream to iOS devices as long as your encoder settings are within the specs the iOS device can handle. No longer need to enter in the rtmp parameters. Using the Wirecast Livesream built in setup works fine.
This is true for FMLE as well - the mobile detection is now based on metadata rather than the rtmp parameters.

Best,
Jason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th November 2011, 23:40
DrakeHatfield DrakeHatfield is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default multiple bitrates

What settings need to be in place in order for me to stream a mobile/medium/hd stream like in Procaster? I use Wirecast because I need 4 inputs and live switching. Since Wirecast supports completely customizable broadcast settings, what settings should be used? Can I Just send 3 streams to my livestream account, and livestream will automatically play the appropriate stream depending on the viewer? IE: mobile gets mobile stream, hard line gets hd...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th November 2011, 23:56
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,298
Default

To stream to Livestream from Wirecast and have it create an iOS compatible stream do the following. Use either 640x480 (4:3) or 640x360 (16:9), a combined video and audio bit rate less than 500kbps and set the Profile to Baseline (that's an important part people miss).

Last edited by cseeman; 10th November 2011 at 23:58.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th November 2011, 00:01
DrakeHatfield DrakeHatfield is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

So in addition to my normal HD stream (1200kbps, 720p/24) I can add a 2nd stream with those specs and livestream will know to deliver that stream to iOS devices and the main stream to everyone else..?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th November 2011, 11:43
latenighter latenighter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Default Did you find a solution?

Hi Drake, did you ever find a solution for this since I have the exact same problem. I contacted LiveStream support but they do not have a solution nor do they know with Procaster will be updated to support multiple camera's. My current idea is to use Wirecast to mix the camera's and then use Procaster to capture the screen of Wirecast. I know its not the best solution but I am going to test it and see if I have any issues. This will allow me to use Wirecast to mix my camera's and then capture the output with Procaster and send it out as High and Mobile.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump