#1  
Old 12th May 2010, 15:18
afflicto afflicto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Question Lost Connection\Low Bandwith!? help!

Hi there, I love The Procaster software and the whole livestream thing!

But, For Every 8'th-10'th Minute, It says "Lost Connection, Low Bandwith...reconnecting"

Why?


*I use normal quality, it says that I stream 200kbps avarage.
*I have 20Mbit down and 1Mbit up speed on my connection.

Any help or suggestions would be highly appriciated!
Thanks
-Afflicto
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th May 2010, 15:30
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by afflicto View Post
Hi there, I love The Procaster software and the whole livestream thing!

But, For Every 8'th-10'th Minute, It says "Lost Connection, Low Bandwith...reconnecting"

Why?


*I use normal quality, it says that I stream 200kbps avarage.
*I have 20Mbit down and 1Mbit up speed on my connection.

Any help or suggestions would be highly appriciated!
Thanks
-Afflicto
This is commonly caused by low bandwidth or if you are streaming over a wireless network. Ensure that there is no other activity on your network while you stream and try again. Also, make sure you are using the most recent version of Procaster (www.livestream.com/procaster).
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th May 2010, 15:37
afflicto afflicto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I downloaded procaster yesterday.
So I think I have the latest. The stream has been going on for more than 10 min now.

There is other traffic going on. only WoW (World of Warcraft).
But WoW dosen't use that much. I Do have 1Mbit up speed on my broadband.
so 200kbps for the stream = 800kbps left for WoW. and wow dosen't use that much UP... only like 100 up max.

so, yeah..is it something else that might cause the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th May 2010, 22:19
Meathead_3dartist Meathead_3dartist is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Yea I get the same problem...is 1meg 2 slow? even when not playing a game online it still loses its connection I dont belive it could be a router issue or internet. I will have to test another live program and see if that does the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st May 2010, 20:16
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,296
Default

First try dropping your screen size to 1024x768 or smaller.

As soon as the issue happens run these two tests
http://www.speedtest.net/
and
http://www.pingtest.net/

and post the results. The first test will tell you what your upstream is at that moment. Often times it can drop below what your ISP promises for various reasons.

The second test is for the stability of the connection. If should result in an A rating especially if you want to stream a game.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bandwith, connection, lost, reconnect

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump