#1  
Old 30th December 2010, 04:42
foray foray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Cool getCurrentContentTitle returning channel name / bitrate

hello lovestream. in june i created a script using your guide (http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...TML_Developers) to use some of the extra features not used in the current versions of the standard livestream player wrapper.

the main thing i wanted to do with this script was use getCurrentContentTitle to pull the name of the current broadcaster and display it for viewers. this worked perfectly until a few days ago i noticed some members of a broadcast team suddenly would cause the stream title to become the channel name followed by the bitrate of the stream.

in other words, it now displays "channelname 152kbps" instead of the usual "person's camera [procaster]"

the thing is these same members' livestream names used to show up fine until a few days ago.

was there a strange update to the way livestream titles streams? if so, i'd just like to let you know i prefer the "person's name [livestream]" naming method over the channel name bitrate type, since we can call the channel name with getChannelFullName already.

thanks!

EDIT: forgot to mention, this only affects some people. most of the streamers still return the normal "person's camera [procaster]" type of stream title, which confuses me.

Last edited by foray; 30th December 2010 at 21:13.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st January 2011, 00:38
foray foray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Cool

hello again! i've discovered that the cause of this "problem" is the newest version of procaster (20.0.151). broadcasting with flash media encoder or previous versions of procaster still sets the title to "person's name [procaster / livestream]"

sorry for the trouble. i will make a feature request in the brocaster forum. thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th January 2011, 16:03
LeakingBlood LeakingBlood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I'm experiencing this problem right now. I get titles such as "guildwars2live 414Kbps [Recorded Fri Jan 14 08:12:53 EST 2011]" or just "guildwars2live 414Kbps" while live. Any help?

http://www.guildwars2live.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2011, 18:06
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeakingBlood View Post
I'm experiencing this problem right now. I get titles such as "guildwars2live 414Kbps [Recorded Fri Jan 14 08:12:53 EST 2011]" or just "guildwars2live 414Kbps" while live. Any help?

http://www.guildwars2live.com/
This is a new feature in the latest release of Procaster to help distinguish between high and mobile streams.

Matt Baron
Livestream Producer Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th January 2011, 19:17
foray foray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default

i like the bitrate selection idea, but would it be possible to include the username as well as the bitrate in the title? it makes it very hard to moderate a channel when you can't keep track of who is doing what.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2011, 14:41
Vaati Vaati is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I'd also like this feature returned, I can understand why you'd want to be able to more easily distinguish stream quality now but knowing who is streaming is just as important if not the most important piece of information developers would like to know and manipulate.

I'm also vouching for the return of camera names with getCurrentContentTitle since this new feature seems more like one step forward and two steps back as we're losing both the camera source and the camera user in exchange. Since this thread is in the developer api, perhaps can we get a compromise and have an RSS feed that governs getCurrentContentTitle or see the return of such information in newer versions of Procaster?

It's very vital information and the streamers on the channel I stream on have been forced to downgrade to an older version of Procaster because of this issue to stay compatible with our website.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th January 2011, 18:37
LeakingBlood LeakingBlood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Perhaps a new function can be added to the player? Something like getStreamUsername() would be nice, where live mode would show the Streamer's username, otherwise it returns the clip's title.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th January 2011, 20:33
foray foray is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Cool

I'd think the easiest solution would just be to title streams like this:

"User's camera [source] xxxkbps"

since the channel name can already be called. i won't pretend to understand what livestream's intentions are for the new titling method though, so this is just a suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th May 2011, 03:55
excitablePants excitablePants is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Reviving this thread. I would like the current streamer's name to be accessible from Javascript, if not via getCurrentContentTitle(), then through some other means.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th June 2011, 16:27
NickdeClaw NickdeClaw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

It's been a long time since the release of 20.0.151 and no indication of intent to return the streamer identification functionality. It's been a battle to keep my streamers using version 20.0.95 to retain this functionality, which is more important to our community than any benefits that 20.0.151 offers.

Please consider making this functionality available to developers once again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump