#1  
Old 27th August 2010, 17:36
fewtoomany fewtoomany is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Default Lower Bandwith

What does it mean when it says there is a problem with internet connection set to lower bandwidth? what am I setting to lower bandwidth?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th August 2010, 22:50
electrisheep electrisheep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same problem, an error box pops up as soon as I click 'Start broadcasting' and then even though it tries to start, it just doesn't work? Any help would be appreciated. I have Windows 7, maybe that has something to do with it?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th August 2010, 14:48
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,296
Default

Run these two tests and link to the results
http://speedtest.net/
and
http://www.pingtest.net/

also post the exact upload settings you're using.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st September 2010, 19:43
fewtoomany fewtoomany is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Default





Where do I find the upload settings?

I did notice my audio sampling rate was set to low so I fixed that and that fixed audio issues I posted about in another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2010, 22:09
cseeman cseeman is offline
Livestream Community Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,296
Default

Upload bandwidth might mean you should set your stream to target 500kbps.
The Pingtest couldn't test for packet loss which may mean you need to update/install java. Your ping is OK and jitter is good. I don't think you're having a packet loss issue but you should look into getting that to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2010, 09:58
minipolkadots minipolkadots is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default

http://www.speedtest.net/result/952859705.png
http://www.pingtest.net/result/24084149.png

These are the results that I got, but I am not quiet sure what to do with them.
could you please help me?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th January 2011, 00:10
Namea Namea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Lower Bandwidth? How do I do that?

My streams are continuously being interrupted by an error message that tells me to lower my bandwidth but there is no option for that in the settings. I ran speed tests on my internet but unfortunately I have no idea what the results mean.

Upload settings: Lowest possible upload settings.

Speed test results:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1096235630.png

http://www.pingtest.net/result/31450115.png
Here's the pingtest using a closer server:
http://www.pingtest.net/result/31450186.png

Last edited by Namea; 4th January 2011 at 00:13. Reason: adding a note
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th January 2011, 12:32
jasonlive's Avatar
jasonlive jasonlive is offline
Livestream
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Namea View Post
My streams are continuously being interrupted by an error message that tells me to lower my bandwidth but there is no option for that in the settings. I ran speed tests on my internet but unfortunately I have no idea what the results mean.

Upload settings: Lowest possible upload settings.

Speed test results:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1096235630.png
Hey Namea,

What are you using to broadcast - Procaster, Webcaster, or Studio?

You're getting a message to lower your bandwidth because you are attempting to stream at a higher rate than your connection can handle. Livestream recommends a minimum of 700Kbps for effective streaming - you only have about 1/7th of that.

What type of internet are you using (wired, wireless, 3g, etc)?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th January 2011, 21:25
Namea Namea is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonlive View Post
Hey Namea,

What are you using to broadcast - Procaster, Webcaster, or Studio?

You're getting a message to lower your bandwidth because you are attempting to stream at a higher rate than your connection can handle. Livestream recommends a minimum of 700Kbps for effective streaming - you only have about 1/7th of that.

What type of internet are you using (wired, wireless, 3g, etc)?

Been using Procaster. My internet SHOULD be higher than that according to my service provider. It's a wireless connection.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th January 2011, 13:19
mbaron's Avatar
mbaron mbaron is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,726
Default

Could you try plugging into your router and see if your experience improves at all. Also if you could please try just streaming using the mobile preset in Procaster and let me know if you still get the error message.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump