#1  
Old 22nd July 2009, 21:26
clloyd clloyd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Recorded video does not import and convert

I'm getting rather frustrated. For two days now I've been unable to use any video recorded in the Livestream studio. Things appear to be going fine but when I go to the recordings folder everything that was recorded says "Unable to download the video." What is the point of recording if it just disappears??? Anyone else having this problem or having any solutions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd July 2009, 02:18
marlonj marlonj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default Recorded Video don't work

The same at my channel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2009, 18:50
rafaellosso rafaellosso is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thumbs down me too

same here.

Thinking about trying out ustream.com because of this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th July 2009, 01:22
beardww beardww is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default very upset

for my entire world baseball tournament, recording has not been working. Technical support says the videos are gone, and not retrievable. I cannot believe this. I have tried streaming from procaster, and directly on the flash studio interface and the same problems happen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th July 2009, 13:59
cooper_inc1 cooper_inc1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11
Exclamation Importing isues: UPDATED

So I'm broadcasting live, and the recorder says its recording. Once my show is down, I stop the recording and it says it will be available in my recording folder and what not, but when I check it, the only things that are recorded correctly are my uploaded videos that I use for commercials. My actual broadcast just appears as a yellow and grey striped box which says "unable to import clip" or something like that. This has happened to me 4 times in a row now, and its getting annoying because I have no way to fix it. If anyone has any suggestion that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th July 2009, 19:39
benhomer benhomer is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 570
Default

We are investigating some recording issues that have appeared in the past week due to increased load on our servers. We have now doubled our server recording capacity and are continuing to monitor closely to ensure there are no further issues and are taking steps to ensure we don't run into this type of issue again in the future. Thank you for your patience.

-Ben
Livestream Support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th July 2010, 01:46
Disead Disead is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Was this fixed?

I keep getting a message that first says that livestream is unable to download the video. I click the retry button, and it says that " Our server is now importing and converting your clip. It usually takes 1.5 mins for a 1 min clip." Then it sits there for about a minute and then gives an error that says "unable to download clip". What is this? It was from a live performance that was very important and irrecoverable. Is there any way to get this back?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th July 2010, 17:54
EugeeTV EugeeTV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Default

Based on how many WoW:Cataclysm streams have popped up on Livestream I can understand the impact this server load has had. My question is if I have a clip that was recorded that keeps failing when I click Retry, should I just consider the footage lost, or will it possibly manage to upload in the future?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th July 2010, 12:03
Henry_live's Avatar
Henry_live Henry_live is offline
Livestream Producer Support
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeeTV View Post
Based on how many WoW:Cataclysm streams have popped up on Livestream I can understand the impact this server load has had. My question is if I have a clip that was recorded that keeps failing when I click Retry, should I just consider the footage lost, or will it possibly manage to upload in the future?
If your recording continues to fail after clicking "Retry" several times, it is likely that the recording has failed completely. To avoid cases like this in the future, I recommend saving your recordings locally using Procaster (www.livestream.com/procaster) by following the instructions at the following URL: http://www.livestream.com/userguide/...er#Desktop_Tab
__________________
-Henry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
annoying, record, studio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump