Livestream Forum

Livestream Forum (http://www.livestream.com/forum/index.php)
-   Meet Users & Discuss Projects (http://www.livestream.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Help using a handycam to broadcast (http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?t=731)

Fishgetter 27th February 2009 07:13

Help using a handycam to broadcast

I would like to broadcast live events using Sony Handycam SR80 that I already own that has accessories like a remote mike. I need some help figuring out how to hook it to my pc/laptop. How do I know or find a firewire that will work? I ask Best Buy but their associates are just part time college kids with no answers. All help is appreciated as I'm a novice at this. Anyone using this setup? thanks

aefox 27th February 2009 08:50

Just buy a Firewire cable ...

Hi! ...

Well it's easy actually ...

Just buy a Firewire cable ... 6 pix to 4 pin mini like this one ...

http://computers.pricegrabber.com/ca...t=product_tab/

Any brand .. as long as you need ...

Then just plug your camera to firewire connector and same on PC ...

Turn on the Camera and will be recognized as a new video/audio device (Microsoft DV firewire, most the times)

Then select that device on the Mogulus Studio or FME (Adobe Flash Live Encoder) ...

and there you go ... your camera live ... or you can play videos on the camera VCR too ... and stream that ...

good luck!

bye!

PD: i am not sure if that Handycam model has Firewire port.

iworshiptv 1st March 2009 09:07

I need help too with a Handycam DCR-SR40 on a Mac...

Hi,