Livestream Forum

Livestream Forum (http://www.livestream.com/forum/index.php)
-   Cameras & Equipment (http://www.livestream.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Camtwist Problem (http://www.livestream.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3921)

faerietalewaltz 19th May 2010 16:11

Camtwist Problem
 
I recently downloaded the Camtwist application that Livestream recommends for capturing desktop and other video. I went through the installation process and set it up for desktop. I can view it perfectly on Camtwist, however, when I do to the broadcast section of Livestream and go to select Camtwist from the drop down, it's not there.

Is there a step I'm missing in order for it to be read? Or is there something else the matter?

If anyone could help me out, that would be great.

Thanks

davidaron 19th May 2010 21:56

Yes, CamTwist doesnt always show up in the source menu. I have not yet found a workaround for it yet.
Try using QuickTime Broadcaster to stream. For some reason, after I started using that program to publish to Livestream and got the latest version of CamTwist, CamTwist re-appeared.

Hope this helps.

cseeman 19th May 2010 23:06

Make sure you're using CamTwist 2.1. I think if you open CamTwist before you point your browser to Livestream Studio it's a bit more reliable. I also find FireFox a bit more reliable than Safari.

Honeyball 22nd May 2010 08:10

Hello, I have an other problem with Camtwist.
It shows up, but everytime I clicked on "Camtwist" in livestream studio, it goes back to my USB Webcam. I have a build in Webcam, that's why?

1. Computer On
2. GIMP On
3. Camtwist On - Desktop Option on
4. Browser On
5. Livestream On

I'm working with OS X Leopard~

Any help? 8O

Sorry for my bad English! DX

davidaron 23rd May 2010 07:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Honeyball (Post 13016)
Hello, I have an other problem with Camtwist.
It shows up, but everytime I clicked on "Camtwist" in livestream studio, it goes back to my USB Webcam. I have a build in Webcam, that's why?

1. Computer On
2. GIMP On
3. Camtwist On - Desktop Option on
4. Browser On
5. Livestream On

I'm working with OS X Leopard~

Any help? 8O

Sorry for my bad English! DX

What happens if you turn off GIMP? It may be stealing the capture application. Also, Make sure CamTwist is started before you enter the studio, and use the latest version listed.

loneshark 31st October 2011 11:09

having the same problem here too, BUMP

http://www.livestream.com/forum/show...8839#post28839

CharReed 23rd January 2012 14:31

Ah ha! Finally found the solution and I'm so happy to share it with everyone, since NO ONE's ever managed to post a decent answer!

I'll add everything I did… I'm not sure exactly which thing made it work, but if you do all these steps, hopefully it can be duplicated.

If Camtwist isn't showing up under your video sources, you need to:

• Change all of the browsers you use to 32-bit mode. See here: http://camtwiststudio.com/support/faq/

• Degrade your Flash Player. Flash 11 royally screws everything up, it's not Lion. I'm using v10.3.183.11. You'll still be able to watch Youtube videos, don't worry. Download it here: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/142/tn_14266.html

• Degrade your Camtwist version. This may not be necessary, but I'm using v2.2 and it's working, so I'm not going to upgrade any time soon. I'm too stoked about it just working for now to potentially mess it up. Download here: http://camtwist.en.softonic.com/mac/download

• Use Raven. I don't know why Firefox and Safari still can't see Camtwist, but for some reason Raven can. Hey, I'll take it. Download Raven here (it's not a full fledged browser, but it's still pretty cool): http://raven.io/

• Once the proper copy of Camtwist is installed, follow all the rest of the instructions here (check and uncheck the options it says): http://camtwiststudio.com/support/faq/

• Also, under "Video Apps" in Camtwist prefs, drag and drop Raven, Safari and Firefox all to that application area. I have no idea if it helps, but I figure it can't hurt. I tested so many versions of Camtwist. I think 2.4 wouldn't allow drag and dropping of apps, but I downgraded to 1.7 and did that and it remembered the settings even after installing newer versions.

• Finally, you can test Camtwist, but it'll probably just show a default "CamTwist" screen, not your desktop. So…

• RESTART. After restart, open Camtwist, set it up, open Raven, go to Livestream or Ustream and it should be in the drop down menu under Video Sources. Select, and wah-lah, it works!

I have no idea why it's only working in Raven or why Flash 11 is screwing it up or even if the latest version of Camtwist works with this process, but I jury rigged it to work by doing all these things. Hopefully this post can help someone else who's been losing their mind over this problem as well, since no one else ever seems to have an answer. Crossposting this so hopefully more people will get a solution that works for them.

davidaron 23rd January 2012 15:06

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this. Hopefully, it will help folks with this problem thats been plaguing us for so long now.

-David

Toebex 24th February 2013 16:37

Heres a fix
 
Ive figured it out guys, after a while of searching :p

So what you need to do is:
-Change your browser to 32bit by (on a mac) highlighting the browser in a finder window, press command+i then look for the option that says "Use 32bit mode" or something like that and check it
-On Camtwist, go to preferences and remove all the applications from the Video Apps tab, uncheck "Dont load Camtwist the camtwist driver unless the CamTwist application is running" then check "Dont load CamTwist driver in these applications".
-Make sure you have something loaded like Desktop+ or something.
-Quit your browser and CamTwist then reopen CamTwist first then Firefox (get the right order)
-Then it should work.

Hopefully this helped someone :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05.